Current Affairs

 On the occasion of Birth anniversary of Dr BR Ambedkar, Prime Minister Narendra Modi launched the phase one of the Ayushman Bharat schemes that aim at creating a healthy, prosperous and strong India. The first phase of Ayushman Bharat will see 1.5 Lakh such Centers being set up across the country. The Prime Minister also launched Health and Wellness Centre under Ayushman Bharat scheme in Jangala village of Karnataka. This health and wellness centre will have the facility of teleconsultation.
Source- DD News

 Nation remembers Dr Bhimrao Ramji Ambedkar on his 127th birth anniversary. Floral tributes were paid at Babasaheb’s Statue in the Parliament House Complex, New Delhi. Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar, the chief architect of the Constitution of India, was born on 14th April 1891 at Mhow in Madhya Pradesh, which is now known as Dr Ambedkar Nagar. He was also the first law minister of India. 
Source- DD News

 Neeraj Chopra became the first Indian javelin thrower to claim a gold medal at the Commonwealth Games,with a season’s best effort of 86.47m in the final. The 20-year-old junior world champion had made the final after achieving the qualifying mark in his very first throw. Neeraj was favourite for gold after his 85.94m throw in March 2018 at Patiala during the Federation Cup National Championships.
Source- The Hindu

 Five-time world champion and Olympic bronze medallist MC Mary Kom has become the first Indian woman boxer to win a gold medal at the Commonwealth Games. Mary Kom achieved the feat after defeating Northern Ireland's Kristina O'Hara in the 45-48kg category final at Gold Coast, Australia. The 35-year-old boxer from Manipur is participating in her maiden Commonwealth Games.
Source- India News

 Veteran Hindi film actor Shri Vinod Khanna was awarded the Dadasaheb Phalke Award for his contribution to Indian Cinema. This was announced during the 65th National Film Awards. Some of the other prominent winners in various categories for this year National Film Awards included Assamese movie ‘Village Rockstars’ in Best Feature Film category and ‘Baahubali - The Conclusion’ in the Best Popular Film providing Wholesome Entertainment category. The Feature Film Central panel was headed by Shekhar Kapur.
Source- Press Information Bureau (PIB)

 Nineteen-year-old Naman Tanwar won India its first boxing medal at the 2018 Commonwealth Games, winning a bronze in the men's 91 kg category. Naman lost out to Australia's Jason Whateley in the semifinal of the event to secure the bronze. India has won a total of 35 medals, including 16 golds, 8 silver and 11 bronze medals so far.
Source- NDTV News

 Wrestler Bajrang Punia won his first Commonwealth Games gold medal, defeating Wales' Kane Charig by technical superiority in the men's freestyle 65 kg final in Gold Coast, Australia. This is India's fifth medal in wrestling in this edition, with Rahul Aware and Sushil Kumar registering gold wins earlier. Bajrang had won a silver medal at the 2014 Commonwealth Games.
Source- NDTV News

 The National Highways Authority of India has signed an agreement for the upgradation of Yagyi – Kalewa section of highway in Myanmar to two lanes with earthen shoulder. The aim is to provide seamless vehicular movement for enhancing trade, business, health, education and tourism among India, Myanmar and Thailand. The project has been funded by Ministry of External Affairs, Government of India and would be executed on EPC mode at a cost of Rs.1177 crores. The project will have 3 new major bridges and 2 new minor bridges. The project would be completed in three years.
Source- Press Information Bureau (PIB)

 The 65th National Film Awards were announced in Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi. The chairpersons of the three juries (Feature, Non-feature and Writing) for the National Film Awards have announced the awards for the different categories. This year, the jury is being headed by director Shekhar Kapur. The jury panel has 10 members. National Film Awards will be given by the President Ram Nath Kovind in May 2018.
Here is the Complete List of Winners of 65th National Film Awards:
S. No. Category Winner
1. Best Anthropological film Name Place Animal Thing, Slave Genesis
2. Best Critic on Cinema Girdhar Jha (Swarn Kamal)
3. Special Mention Mhorkya (Marathi), Hello Arasi (Oriya), Take Off (Malayalam), Newton (Hindi)
4. Best Ladakhi Film Walking With The Wind
5. Best Jasari Film Sinjar
6. Best Tulu Film Paddayi
7. Best Odiya Film Hello Arsi
8. Best Kannada Film Hebbet Ramakka
9. Best Hindi Film Newton
10. Best Bengali Film Mayurakshi
11. Marathi Film Kachcha Limbu
12. Best Malayalam Film Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum
13. Best Telugu Film Ghazi
14. Assamese Film Ishu
15. Best Tamil Film To Let
16. Best Gujarati Film Dhh
17. Best Action Direction Abbas Ali Moghu for Baahubali 2
18. Choreography Ganesh Acharya for 'Gori Tu Latth Maar' for Toilet - Ek Premkatha
19. Best Special Effects Baahubali 2
20. Best Music Director Kaatru Veliyidai
21. Best Background Score Mom
22. Special Jury Award Nagarkirtan
23. Best Lyrics JM Prahalad for Muthuratna song
24. Best Make Up Artist Ram Rajjak (Nagarkirtan)
25. Best Production Design Santhosh Raman (Malayalam movie Take Off)
26. Best Screenplay (Original) Sajeev Pazhoor (Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum)
27. Screenplay Writer (Adapted) JAYARAJ (Bhayanakam)
28. Best Dialogues Sambit Mohanty (Hello Arsi)
29. Best Cinematography Bhayanakam
30. Best Cameraman Nikhil S Praveen
31. Best Playback Singer Shashaa Tirupati for Kaatru Veliyidai.
32. Best Actress Sridevi for ‘Mom’
33. Best Actor Riddhi Sen for ‘Nagar Kirtan’
34. Best Director Jayaraj for ‘Bhayanakam’
35. Best Film Village Rockstars (Assamese)
    Source- The Indian Express

  India has jumped 13 places in the last one year to 130th spot in the latest annual Index of Economic Freedom released by a top American think-tank the Heritage Foundation. As per the latest Index of Economic Freedom, China has jumped one spot to 110th and Pakistan is now at 131 position. Economic freedom is the fundamental right of every human to control his or her own labor and property.
The top 5 countries in the list are-
  • 1. Hong Kong
  • 2. Singapore
  • 3. New Zealand
  • 4. Switzerland
  • 5. Australia.

You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner