4th Class Science Plants Aquatic Plants

Aquatic Plants

Category : 4th Class

*      Aquatic Plants 


Aquatic plants are those which live in or on the water. Aquatic plants are also called hydrophytic plants. These plants have evolved special features like air sacs for flotation, increased number of stomata, smaller feathery and specialized roots to take in oxygen. Aquatic plants are of three main types.


*       Floating Plants

These plants are like sponge. There are numbers of empty spaces throughout their body, which is filled with air. This makes the plant light enough to float in the water. For example, duckweed, water hyacinth.

     Water Hyacinth  


*         Fixed Plants

These plants have roots fixed to the mud at the bottom of the pond. They have thin, long, hollow and very flexible stem. The plants have broad and flat, plate like leaves with waxy coating on the surface. Stomata are found on the upper surface of the leaves. For example, water lilies and lotus.

         Lotus Plant  


*         Underwater Plants

These plants live and grow under water. Their roots fix the plant to the muddy soil. They have narrow thin leaves with no stomata. The leaves absorb carbon dioxide and oxygen directly through their surface. The stems are flexible and have air spaces. For example, tape grass, hydrilla and pond weed.


        Pond Weed    





     What are the aquatic plants?

(a) The plants which grow in water

(b) The plants which grow in desert

(c) The plants which grow in plain

(d) The plants which grow on mountains

(e) All of these


Answer: (a)



     Lemna, Eichhornia, Wolffia, Pistia are example of which type of hydrophytes?

(a) Fixed hydrophytes 

(b) Floating hydrophytes

(c) Under water hydrophytes

(d) Both (a) and (b)

(e) None of these


Answer: (b)

You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner