SSC Indian Polity and Civics Sample Paper NCERT Sample Paper-1

  • question_answer
    Which of the following is contained in the Concurrent list?

    A)  Agriculture       

    B)  Education

    C)  Fisheries           

    D)  Police

    Correct Answer: B

    Solution :

    [b] The Constitution of India divides powers between the Union and the State governments. The Seventh Schedule of the Constitution includes three lists of subjects the Union List, the State List and the Concurrent List. The Central or Union Government has exclusive power to make laws on the subjects which are mentioned in the Union List. The States have the power to make law on the subjects which are included in the Concurrent List. With regard to the Concurrent List, both the Central and State governments can make laws on the subjects mentioned in the Concurrent List. Finally, the subjects which are not mentioned in the above three lists are called residuary powers and the Union government can make laws on them. It may be noted here that in making laws on the subjects of the Concurrent list, the Central government has more authority than the State governments. And on the subjects of the State List also the Central government has indirect control. All this shows that though the Indian Constitution has clearly divided powers between the two governments, yet the Central government has been made stronger than the State governments.

You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner