SSC History Sample Paper NCERT Sample Paper-1

  • question_answer
    Match the following
    List-1 List-2
    A. Asiatic Society of Bengal 1. John Elliot Drinkwater
    B. Anglo-Hindu College 2. William Jones
    C. Bethune School 3. Raj a Ram Mohan Roy
    D. Central Hindu College at Banaras 4. Madan Mohan Malviya

    A)  A\[\to \]1, B\[\to \]3, C\[\to \]2, D\[\to \]4

    B)  A\[\to \]4, B\[\to \]3, C\[\to \]2, D\[\to \]1

    C)  A\[\to \]2, B\[\to \]3, C\[\to \]1, D\[\to \]4

    D)  A\[\to \]1, B\[\to \]2, C\[\to \]3, D\[\to \]4

    Correct Answer: C

    Solution :

    [c] The Asiatic Society was founded by Sir William Jones on 15 January 1784 in a meeting presided over by Sir Robert Chambers, the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court at the Fort William in Calcutta, then capital of the British Raj, to enhance and further the cause of Oriental research. Hindu College, Kolkata the school's predecessor, was established in 1817 by Raja Rammohan Roy, David Hare, Radhakanta Deb, Rasamay Dutt, Baidyanath Mukhopadhya, Sir Edward Hyde East and other educationists. In 1855, the pathsala, part of Hindu College became Hindu School and the other part    (mahapathshala)    became    Presidency College (now Presidency University). Bethune School was founded as a school in 1849 by John Elliot Drinkwater Bethune, and in 1879 developed into the first women's college in India, after whom it is named as Bethune College. It is located in Kolkata, and is affiliated to the University of Calcutta. Central Hindu School, formerly known as Central Hindu College, is one of India's largest schools which is situated at Kamachha in the heart of the holy city Varanasi. Founded by noted freedom-fighter Annie Besant in July 1898, with Dr. Arthur Richardson, a science graduate from England as the principal, and went on to become the nucleus of Banaras Hindu University, which was established in 1916.

You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner