SSC Geography Sample Paper NCERT Sample Paper-3

  • question_answer
    'Indian Standard Meridian' passes through the States If U.P, M.P,

    A)  A.P and Karnataka

    B)  A.P. and Tamil Nadu

    C)  Karnataka and Tamil Nadu

    D)  Chattisgarh, Orissa and A.P.

    Correct Answer: A

    Solution :

    [a] After independence in 1947, the Indian government established IST as the official time for the whole country, although Kolkata and Mumbai retained their own local time for a few more years. The Central observatory was moved from Chennai to a location near Mirzapur, so that it would be as close to UTC + 5:30 as possible. During the Sino-Indian War of 1962 and the Indo-Pakistan Wars of 1965 and 1971, daylight saving was briefly used to reduce civilian energy consumption. Tropic of Cancer passes through 8 (Eight) states: Gujarat, Rajasthan, MP, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, West Bengal, Tripura and Mizoram. Indian standard Meridian (82.5 E longitude) passes through UP, MP, Chhattisgarh, Orissa and Andhra Pradesh.

You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner