Punjab Medical Punjab - MET Solved Paper-2008

  • question_answer In five kingdom system of classification of RH Whittaker, how many kingdoms contain eukaryotes?

    A)  Four kingdoms                

    B)  One kingdom

    C)  Two kingdoms                 

    D)  Three kingdoms

    Correct Answer: A

    Solution :

    R H Whittaker (1969), an American taxonomist divided all the organisms into five kingdoms. These are kingdom-Monera, Protista, Fungi, Plantae and Animalia, of these kingdom monera contains prokaryotic organisms whereas rest four kingdoms contain eukaryotic organisms. Out of these five, only one kingdom-Monera contains all prokaryotes like, bacteria mycoplasma, Actinomycetes and blue-green algae (cyanobacteria). Rest four kingdoms Protista, Fungi, Plantae and Animalia ie, contain unicellular (Protista) to multicellular (Fungi, Plantae   and Animalia)   eukaryotic cell organization.


You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner