3rd Class Science Eating Habits of Animals Animal Kingdom

Animal Kingdom

Category : 3rd Class

Animal Kingdom


Land Animals

Animals that live on land are called land animals. For example, dog, cat, elephant, zebra, cow, etc.


Characteristics of Land Animals

Land animals have certain characteristics that distinguish them from other animals. They are as follows:


Land animals move or crawl

Most of the land animals move or crawl in search of food and shelter. Their bodies are designed for movement. For example, lion, tiger, snake, etc. Kangaroo is an animal that hops.


Land animals do not make their own food

Land animals do not make their own food. They depend on plants or other animals for their food. For example, cow eats grass, lion eats deer and deer again eats grass etc. This is like a chain that the plant and animal form. This chain is known as food chain.


Land animals produce sound

Most of the land animals produce sound. For example, cat mews, dog barks, etc.


Land animals take oxygen directly from air

Land animals take oxygen directly from air and utilise it to get energy.


Land animals have tails

Most of the land animals have tail that help them in their movement. Tail also help them to maintain the body balance. For example, lion, elephant, dog, cat, etc.



Land animals reproduce

Land animals reproduce by laying eggs or by giving birth to young ones. In this way they do not get extinct. For example, cow gives birth to young ones whereas snake lays eggs.

Image result for snake png



Classification of Land Animals

Land animals can be classified into various categories on the basis of their body features, food they eat and adaptation.

In the first category, land animals are divided into:

(i) Domestic animals

(ii) Wild animals


Domestic Animals

Animals that live with us are called domestic animals. For example, dog, cat, etc.



Wild Animals

Animals that live in the forest are called wild animals. For example, lion, tiger, etc.




In the second category, land animals are classified as:

(i) Milk giving animals

(ii) Draught animals 


Milk Giving Animals

Animals that give us milk are called milk giving animals. For example, cow, buffalo, etc.


                                                            Cow                                         Buffalo


Draught Animals

Animals that work and carry load for us are called draught animals. For example, ox, horse, etc.


In the third category, the land animals are classified as:

(i) Herbivorous animals

(ii) Carnivorous animals

(iii) Omnivorous animals


Herbivorous Animals

Animals that eat plants are called herbivorous animals. Teeth of herbivorous animals are broad and flat. For example, cow, elephant, goat, etc.

                       Related image

                                                            Cow                             Broad molar teeth


Carnivorous Animals

Animals that eat flesh are called carnivorous animals. Teeth of carnivorous animals are narrow and sharp. For example, lion, wolf, tiger, etc.

                                Related image

Lion                                         Pointed canine teeth



Omnivorous Animals                                          

Animals that eat both plants and flesh are called omnivorous animals. For example, dog, cat, bear, etc.

                             Related image

Bear                                         blade like pointed broad premolar teeth



Land Animals are Useful to us

Land animals are useful to us in many ways.in many ways.          


  • Some animals like cow, buffalo, goat, etc. give us milk.


Related image



  • Skin of many animals is used for making leather. The leather is used to make things such as bags, shoes, etc.

Related imageRelated image                      Related image

Things made from skin of animal


  • Elephant is used for carrying logs of wood.


  • Sheep gives us wool. Wool is used to make sweaters.


  • Dog and cat are kept as pet animals.
  • Dog guards our homes.
  • Dung of many animals is used as manure and fuel. For example, dung of cow, buffalo, etc. is used as manure and fuel.



Animals which give birth to babies are called mammals. For example, human being, dog, whale, dolphin, etc.


Aquatic Animals

Aquatic animals live in water. For example, fish, dolphin, whale, etc. Aquatic animals also live in lakes, oceans and rivers.

Image result for WHALE



Some aquatic animals like tortoise, frog, etc. live both on land and in water and are called amphibians.

Image result for Tortoise png


The streamline body designs of fish help them to swim easily in water. Fish has fins and tail to swim and change direction while swimming.

Image result for SALMON FISH



Classification of Aquatic Animals

Aquatic animals can be classified on the basis of:

(i) Their habitat (the kind of water they live in)

(ii) Food (the type of food they take in)


Classification on the basis of habitat:


Fresh water animals

They are the animals that live in rivers, freshwater lakes, ponds, etc.


Salt-Water animals

The animals that live in seas, oceans, etc. For example, whale, shark, etc.

Aquatic animals can also be classified according to the kind of food they eat. There are two types of aquatic animals as per their eating habits:


Herbivorous aquatic animals

These animals eat aquatic plants. For example, sea horse, parrot fish, etc.


Carnivorous aquatic animals

Carnivorous aquatic animals eat other aquatic animals. For example, shark, whale, etc.


How do Aquatic Animals Breathe?

Most of the aquatic animals have an organ called gill. They breathe with the help of gills. These aquatic animals use gills to extract oxygen dissolved in water. For breathing, fish open and close their mouth to engulf water. Water passes from mouth to gills, where the oxygen is taken out from water and then it passes into the blood. An aquatic animal that breathes with the help of gill dies if taken out of water because gills cannot take oxygen directly from air.

Fish breathes through gills


Some aquatic animals have lungs for breathing. For example, dolphin and whale. They breathe air from the surface of water. Both dolphin and whale have noses on the top of their heads. These aquatic animals can swim in water for a stretch of about 30 minutes without coming to the surface for breathing.

Related image

Whales have nose on their head

Reproduction in Aquatic Animals

Most of the aquatic animals lay eggs. Some aquatic animals such as whale and dolphin give birth to their young ones.

Image result for dolphins png                                          



You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner