CLAT Sample Paper CLAT Sample Paper-8

  • question_answer
    The President of India is elected by
    I. all members of Parliament.
    II. elected members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha
    III. Elected members of the state legislative assemblies including National Capital Territory of Delhi and Union Territory of Puducherry.
    IV. All members of state legislative assemblies
    Which of the above statements is/are correct?

    A)          I and IV

    B)         II and III

    C)         II and IV

    D)         I and III            \[\]

    Correct Answer: B

    Solution :

    According to Article 54 of the Indian Constitution, the President shall be elected by the members of an electoral callege consisting of (i) elected members of both houses of Parliament and (ii) the elected members of the legislative assemblies of the states, including national capital territory of Delhi and Union territory of Puducherry.

You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner