UPSC General Studies Sample Paper General Studies Sample Paper-6

  • question_answer
    Which of the following countries are part of Scandinavia?
    1. Ireland                                  
    2. Sweden             
    3. Norway                    
    4. Iceland
    5. Netherlands   
    6. Denmark           
    7. Finland
    Select the correct answer using the codes given below.

    A)  2, 5 and 7                    

    B)  2, 3, 4 and 6

    C)  1, 3, 4, 5 and 6

    D)         1, 2, 4, 5 and 798.

    Correct Answer: B

    Solution :

    [b] Scandinavia is a historical and cultural-linguistic region in Northern Europe characterised by a common ethno-cultural Germanic heritage and related languages, which includes the. three kingdoms of Denmark, Norway and Sweden. Modern Norway and Sweden proper and also northern parts of Finland are situated on the Scandinavian Peninsula, whereas modern Denmark is situated on the Danish islands and Juteland. The term Scandinavia is usually used as a cultural term. but in English usage, it is occasionally confused with the purely geographical term Scandinavian Peninsula, which took its name from the cultural-linguistic concept. Following countries are considered in Scandinavia Norway Sweden Denmark Finland Iceland

You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner