UPSC General Studies Sample Paper General Studies Sample Paper-9

  • question_answer
    Consider the following statements about the characteristics of ragas.                        
    1. There must be nodes of the raga called tappa. Each raga must have atleast three nodes.              
    2. There must be a modal structure (sequence of nodes) of the raga called as that in Hindustani music and mela in Carnatic music.                                                                   
    3. There must be Jaatis. Jaati means caste or collection and in the context of raga, it refers to the number of
    Which of the statement(s) given above is/are correct?                                     

    A)  Only 1             

    B)  Only 2                 

    C)                    2 and 3           

    D)  1 and 3                                   

    Correct Answer: D

    Solution :

    [d] In Carnatic music, ragas are classified as Janaka ragas and Janya ragas. Janaka ragas are the ragas from which the Janya ragas are created. Janaka ragas are grouped together using a scheme called 'Katapayadi sutra' and are organised as Melakarta ragas.

You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner