SSC History Sample Paper NCERT Sample Paper-4

  • question_answer
    Which one of the following ancient Mahajanapadas was located on the bank of Yamuna?

    A)  Anga   

    B)  Avanti

    C)  Matsya

    D)  Vatsa

    Correct Answer: D

    Solution :

    [d] In the 6th century BC, there existed 16-large states in India which are known as 16 Mahajanpadas. They are Kasi, Kosala, Anga, Magadha, Vajji or Vriji, Malla, Chedi or Cheti, Vamsa or Vatsa, Kuru, Panchala, Machcha or Matsya, Surasena, Assaka or Ashmaka, Avanti, Gandhara & Kamboja. The names of at least 9 among them are given in the Vedic Literature. Panini in the 4th century BC mentions as many as 22 different Janpadas, but also mentions 3 most important viz. Magadha, Kosala and Vatsa. Vatsa covered the modem districts of Allahabad and Mirzapur in Uttar Pradesh. Its capital was Kausambi.

You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner