SSC Indian Polity and Civics Sample Paper NCERT Sample Paper-5

  • question_answer
    Which of the following States have bicameral legislature:

    A)  Bihar, U.P, Tamil Nadu and J & K

    B)  Bihar, U.P, Karnataka and J & K

    C)  Maharashtra, Karnataka & Kerala

    D)  M.P. West Bengal and Karnataka

    Correct Answer: B

    Solution :

    [b] The Vidhan Parishad (or Legislative Council) is die upper house in those states of India that have a bicameral legislature. As of 2014, seven (out of twenty-nine) states have a Legislative Council: Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Telangana, and Uttar Pradesh. In addition, Rajasthan and Assam are cleared by the parliament of India to make their own Vidhan Parishads. In Tamilnadu, the Council was abolished by the M. G. Ramachandran administration on 1 November 1986. In 2010 the DMK regime headed by M. Karunanidhi tried to revive the Council. The current AIADMK regime has expressed its intention not to revive the council and has passed a resolution in the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly in this regard.

You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner