SSC History Sample Paper NCERT Sample Paper-6

  • question_answer
    Consider the following statements:
    1. Chittaranjan Das was a member of the non- official Jalianwala Bagh Enquiry Committee
    2. Subhash Chandra Bose was a member of fee Motilal Nehru Committee which was appointed by the Congress to draft a Constitution for free India. Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

    A)  1 only 

    B)  2 only

    C)  Both 1 and 2    

    D)  neither 1 nor 2

    Correct Answer: C

    Solution :

    [c] The Jallianwala Bagh massacre provoked a strong public reaction in India and England. The Government pointed a Committee of Enquiry (consisting of four British entry Indian members) under the chairmanship of Lord Hunter to enquire into the Punjab disturbances. The Indian National Congress decided to boycott the Hunter Community and appointed the nonofficial committee consisting of popular lawyers, including Motilal Nehru, CR Das, Abbas Tyabji, MR Jayakar and Ghandhiji. Before the Hunter Committee began its proceeding, the government passed an Indemnity Act for the protection of its officers. The "white washing bill" as the Indemnity Act was called, was severly criticised by Motilal. The Nehru Report of 28-30 August, 1928 was a memorandum outlining a proposed new dominion status constitution for India. It was prepared by a committee of the All Parties Conference chaired by Motilal Nehru with his son Jawaharlal Nehru acting as secretary. There were nine other members in this committee, including two Muslims. The final report was signed by Motilal Nehru, Ali Imam, Tej Bahadur Sapru, M.S. Aney, Mangal Singh, Shuaib Qureshi, Subhas Chandra Bose, and G. R. Pradhan. Shuaaib Qureshi disagreed with some of the recommendations.

You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner