UPSC General Studies Solved Paper - General Studies-2014

  • question_answer
    Consider the following countries.
    1. Denmark                   
    2. Japan
    3. Russian Federation     
    4. United Kingdom
    5. United States of America
    Which of the above are the members of the 'Arctic Council1?

    A)  1, 2 and 3                    

    B)  2, 3 and 4  

    C)  1, 4 and 5                    

    D)  1, 3 and 5

    Correct Answer: D

    Solution :

    Exp. [d] Members of the Arctic Council are Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden and United States. It is a high-level intergovernmental forum that addresses issues faced by the Arctic governments and the indigenous people of the Arctic. The council also has many observer states. India is an observer to the Arctic Council along with several other countries.

You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner