UPSC General Studies Solved Paper - General Studies-2016

  • question_answer
    Which of the following is not a member of 'Gulf Cooperation Council?

    A)  Iran                 

    B)         Saudi Arabia

    C)  Oman 

    D)         Kuwait

    Correct Answer: A

    Solution :

    Exp. [a] Iran is not a member of Gulf Cooperation Council. Iran has maximum population of Persian; Arabs are present in very less number the Cooperation Council for the Arab states of the Gulf known as the Gulf Cooperation Council is a regional inter-governmental political and economic union consisting of all Arab states of the Persian Gulf, except for Iraq. Its member states are Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates. Gulf Cooperation Council was established in Abu Dhabi on 25th May, 1981. The unified economic agreement between the countries of the Gulf Cooperation Council was signed on 11th November, 1981 in Abu Dhabi. These countries are often referred to as ?the GCC states?.

You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner