Current Affairs Awards & Honours

  Former foreign secretary Shyam Saran will be conferred with Japan’s second highest national award, ‘Order of the Rising Sun, Gold and Silver Star’.  He will be conferred with this award for his contributions to strengthen the strategic ties and enhancing mutual understanding between India and Japan. Saran, who was India’s Foreign Secretary during 2004-2006, has played an important role to elevate Japan-India relationship to the strategic partnership.
Source- Business Standard

 Bharti AXA Life Insurance, a private life insurer, has been conferred with the FICCI Claims Excellence Award. The recognition comes for its customer-friendly claims services in the life insurance sector. The insurer improved its individual claim settlement ratio, the number of claims paid to the number of claims received, to 96.85% in the financial year 2017-18. 
Source- The Hindu Business Line

 An author from Oman, Jokha Alharthi has won the prestigious Man Booker International Prize for “Celestial Bodies”, the story of three sisters of a desert country confronting its slave-owning past and a complex modern world. Jokha Alharthi, the first Arabic-language writer to take the prize, will split the 50,000 pounds or 64,000 US dollar purse with her UK-based translator, Marilyn Booth. The prize is a counterpart to the Man Booker Prize for English-language novels and is open to books in any language that has been translated into English.
Source- News on AIR

  Comedian-actor Kapil Sharma has been acknowledged as the most viewed stand-up comedian in India and abroad by the World Book of Records London. Having started his career as a stand-up comedian, Kapil initially performed on several comedy shows. But it was his separate show Comedy Nights With Kapil which brought him immense fame.
Source- Hindustan Times

 Police Officer Jitender Kumar, an Indian peacekeeper is among the 119 military, police and civilian personnel who will be honoured with a prestigious UN medal 2019 for courage and sacrifice in the line of duty. Police Officer Jitender Kumar made the supreme sacrifice while serving in the United Nations Organisation Stabilisation Mission in the Central African country of Congo. He will be honoured posthumously with the Dag Hammarskjold Medal as the world organisation observes the International Day of UN Peacekeepers. 
Source- News On AIR

  Anil Kapoor was felicitated by Council of European Chambers of Commerce in Indiaand a European Union delegation in Mumbai. He was awarded because of his continuous support in promoting the cause of children’s rights. The event also marked the celebration of EU Day 2019 on 17th May. Anil Kapoor, who has been working in collaboration with Plan India, a child rights organisation, was the guest of honour at the event.
Source- Business Standard

  Indian filmmaker, Achyutanand Dwivedi’s film, “Seed Mother”, won the third prize in the international section of Nespresso Talents 2019 in Cannes. The three-minute film celebrates the exceptional spirit of Rahibai Soma Popere, a woman who champions the use of local seeds and traditional methods of farming in villages of Maharashtra. This year’s theme was ‘We Are What We Eat’, aimed at exploring the world, experiencing diversity, and sharing experiences and knowledge through food.
Source- News on AIR

  United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNDRR) conferred Sasakawa Award 2019 for Disaster Risk Reduction to Dr. Pramod Kumar Mishra, Additional Principal Secretary to Prime Minister of India. The award was announced at the Award Ceremony during the ongoing 6th Session of Global Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction (GPDRR) 2019 at Geneva.
Source- Press Information Bureau (PIB)

 CEAT Cricket Rating (CCR) Awards 2019 were announced in Mumbai. India captain Virat Kohli bagged the International Cricketer and Batsman of the Year awardduring the CCR International awards. Pacer Jasprit Bumrah was adjudged as International Bowler of the Year.
Here is the complete list of winners of CEAT Cricket Rating Awards 2019:
Sl. No. Category Winner
1.       International Cricketer and Batsman of the Year Virat Kohli
2.       International Bowler of the Year Jasprit Bumrah
3.       International Test Cricketer of the Year Cheteshwar Pujara
4.       International ODI Cricketer of the Year Rohit Sharma
5.       International T20 Player of the Year Aaron Finch
6.       Outstanding Performance of the Year Kuldeep Yadav
7.       International T20 Bowler of the Year Rashid Khan
8.       Lifetime Achievement Award Mohinder Amarnath
9.       Domestic Player of the Year Ashutosh Aman
10.   International Woman Cricketer of the Year Smriti Mandhana
11.   Junior Cricketer of the Year Yashasvi Jaiswal
Source- Hindustan Times

  IPS officer Chhaya Sharma, who led the investigation team of the infamous Nirbhaya gang-rape and murder case, has been awarded the 2019 McCain Institute Award for Courage and Leadership. The award is given to those who show courage on behalf of human rights, humanitarian compassion, justice, freedom, and human dignity.
Source- Business Standard


You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner