Current Affairs State

  Uttarakhand has become the 1st state in the country where the government has made a policy to lease agricultural land. In lieu of giving land on a 30-year lease, the concerned farmer will get the rent for the land. In the hilly areas of the state, the obstacles of leasing land for farming, agriculture, horticulture, herbs, off-season vegetables, milk production, tea plantation, fruit hybridization and solar energy has been removed with this step. Now any institution, company, firm or NGO can take farmland on lease in villages, leasing a maximum of 30 acres of land on lease for 30 years. There is a provision to take more land in special circumstances. If there is government land around farmland, then it can be leased by paying the fee with the permission of the District Magistrate. The state government has made this policy in the wake of difficulties in the consolidation of land.

 The Andhra Pradesh Government has passed the “Andhra Pradesh Decentralisation and Equal Development of All Regions Bill”, 2020. The bill paves way for three capitals of the state.
  • Highlights
The three capitals are Amaravati-legislative capital, Vishakhapatnam-the executive capital and Kurnool-judicial capital. The three-capital system is being adopted by the government of Andhra Pradesh in order to ensure equal development throughout the state. This also aids in decentralization of government. The above cities were selected as capitals for their strategic location to aid decentralization.
  • Committees
The cities were recommended by the committees namely B N Sri Krishna Committee, G N Rao Committee and K Sivaramakrishnan Committee.
  • Indian States
There are other states in India with two capitals as well. It includes Maharashtra, Himachal Pradesh and Jammu and Kashmir. The capitals of Maharashtra are Mumbai and Nagpur. The state holds winter session of the state in Nagpur. Similarly, the capitals of Himachal Pradesh are Shimla and Dharamshala (Winter). The capital of Jammu and Kashmir were Srinagar and Jammu (winter).
  • Other Countries
The other countries that have multiple capitals include Sri Lanka and Malaysia. In Sri Lanka, Jayawardenepura Kotte is the seat of national legislature and is the official capital and Colombo is the seat of judicial bodies and national executives.

 Reading of the Preamble of the Constitution has been made mandatory for the Maharashtra schools by the government of Maharashtra. The Maharashtra government has mandated the reading of Preamble of the Constitution after prayer in all primary and secondary schools in Maharashtra. The above decision will be implemented from 26 January 2020 through a programme “Sovereignty of Constitution, the public interest of all”. According to the programme, in every school of Maharashtra, the Preamble of the Constitution will be read by all in a group before the beginning of the classes.
Impact of the decision: The decision has been taken to make everyone aware and understand the basic principles and the importance of the inclusiveness, justice, equality, liberty and brotherhood mentioned in the Preamble of the Constitution.

  Uttar Pradesh Government has launched Mukhyamantri Krishak Durghatna Kalyan Yojana. This scheme will provide financial assistance to the family of farmers who die or become handicapped while working in fields. UP government has also decided to implement Mukhyamantri Paryatan Samvardhan Yojana to boost tourism in the state. The scheme will also include the Bataidars, who work in the field of other persons and share the crop after it is harvested. The scheme will cover farmers and their family members in the age group of 18-70 years. Mukhyamantri Paryatan Samvardhan Yojana one tourist point will be developed with a fund of 50 lakh rupees in each and every assembly segment of the state.

 Meghalaya celebrates their 48th anniversary of statehood day on 21 January. The Meghalaya Day celebration will continue till the Republic Day celebration. In 1971, the Parliament passed the North-Eastern Areas (Reorganization) Act, 1971, which conferred full statehood on the Autonomous State of Meghalaya. Meghalaya attained statehood on 21 January 1972, with a Legislative Assembly of its own. Thus Meghalaya was formed by carving out the two districts of the state of Assam: the United Khasi Hills and Jaintia Hills, and the Garo Hills.

  Union Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports Kiren Rijiju flag off ‘Fit India Cyclothon’ in Panaji, Goa. This inaugural event of ‘Fit India Cyclothon’ organised by Directorate of Sports and Youth Affairs and Government of Goa. This event is organized with the aim to get the people involved in outdoor activities and starting a cycling culture in the state. The Cyclothon event witnessed participation by over 500 cycling enthusiasts who came together to cycle through a five-kilometre stretch within the Panaji city.

  Government of Mizoram will celebrate Chapchar Kut, the biggest and most important festival of the Mizos, on March 6, 2020. Chapchar Kut is a spring festival celebrated usually in March after completion of the Jhum cultivation. Jhum cultivation, also known as the slash and burn agriculture, is the process of growing crops by first clearing the land of trees and vegetation and burning them thereafter.

  The famous Parshuram Kund Mela begins in Arunachal Pradesh. Parshuram Kund is a Hindu pilgrimage centre situated on the Brahmaputra plateau in the lower reaches of the Lohit River. Thousands of pilgrims visit the place in winter every year, especially on the Makar Sankranti day for a holy dip in the sacred kund which is believed to wash away one’s sins.

  The Income-Tax Department has launched a 24×7 control room to monitor black money and illegal inducements in poll-bound Delhi. The facility will also host a toll-free number “1800117574” where people can inform the department about any activity of the use of money power, illegal distribution of cash among other such election-related crimes. The Election Commission (EC) has also appointed 22 IRS officers of the I-T Department as expenditure observers for these polls.

  The Kolkata Port has been renamed as Shyama Prasad Mukherjee Port on the occasion of 150th years celebration of Kolkata Port Trust. The event was also attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. He dedicated a Commemorative Stamp to mark 150 years of Kolkata port trust to nation. The Kaushal Vikas Kendra and Pritilata Chhatri Avas for 200 tribal girl students from Sundarbans were also inaugurated during the event. During the event, two oldest pensioners of the Port Mr. Naresh Chandra Chakraborty (100 years old) and Smt. Nagina Bhagat (105 years old) were also honoured.

You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner