Current Affairs Sports

  Paralympian Deepa Malik and wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt are among the new inductees in the government’s All India Council of Sports (AICS). It is an advisory body to the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports which was formed in 2015 by the Sports Minister Sarbananda Sonowal. Some other renowned new entrants in the Council are former shooter Anjali Bhagwat, footballer Renedy Singh, and mountaineer Bachendri Pal. Senior India off-spinner Harbhajan Singh has also been inducted in the council. The Council is an advisory body for implementation of policies, matters relating to the promotion of inclusiveness in sports with special focus on women, differently-abled, tribals etc.

 The team of the Indian Consulate has won the Diplomat Cup Cricket Championship of 2020 held in Sharjah. The team of the Indian Consulate defeated the Pakistan Consulate to win the trophy which was organized by Skyline University College in Sharjah. The trophy was organised with an aim of uniting the officials and employees of different Consulates based in UAE. The Consulate team of 8 countries participated in the tournament. The participating Consulates were: India, Australia, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh , Afghanistan, South Africa, Pakistan and the US.

  Vinesh Phogat won her first gold medal of the 2020 season at the Rome Ranking Series in Rome. She defeated Ecuador’s Luisa Elizabeth Melendres 4-0 in the final (53 kg) category. A teen sensation Anshu Malik settled for a silver in 57kg competition. She lost to Nigeria’s Odunayo Adekuoroye for the score 10-0.

  Thailand’s Ratchanok Intanon wins Indonesia Badminton Masters 2020 women’s singles title in Jakarta, Indonesia. She defeats Carolina Marin (Spain) 21-19, 11-21, 21-18 in the final clash. The win was her second title in the Indonesian tournament.

 Sania Mirza (India) and Nadiia Kichenok (Ukraine) have won the women’s doubles title of the WTA International trophy at Hobart, Australia. They beat Shuai Peng and Shuai Zhang from China 6-4,6-4. It’s Sania’s 42nd WTA doubles title and first since Brisbane International trophy in 2007 with American partner Bethanie Mattek-Sands.

 The ICC Under-19 World Cup Cricket 2020 begins in South Africa. Indian team played under the captaincy of Priyam Garg. The final of the tournament will be played on Feb 09 at JB Marks Oval, Potchefstroom, South Africa. India is the most successful team in the tournament, having won four titles till date. India is the defending champions in U19 World Cup 2018. Total 16 teams are participating in the tournament, split into four groups of four.

  World no. 1 ranked Japanese badminton player Kento Momota won the Malaysia Masters 2020 title. He defeated Denmark’s Viktor Axelsen 24-22, 21-11. He won a record 11 titles last year. The victory in Malaysia lends credence to Momota’s drive to win the gold in July’s Tokyo Olympics.

  Ladakh women team has won the 7th National Ice Hockey Championship women trophy. In the final match, Ladakh scoring 2 goals against Delhi and won the tournament. The tournament was organised by the Ice Hockey Association of India (IHAI) in association with the Ladakh winter sports club. 4 women teams representing Chandigarh, Delhi, Maharashtra, and Ladakh participated in the tournament.

 Italian Veteran footballer Daniele De Rossi announced his retirement. He won the 2006 world cup title for Italy after defeating France. He has played 117 games for Italy from 2004-17.

 India’s P Magesh Chandran wins the title in the 95th edition of the prestigious Hastings International Chess Congress at Hastings in England. France’s Romain Edouard, who was the only player to end the tournament a half-point behind Chandran, took the second spot.
Source: The News on AIR

You need to login to perform this action.
You will be redirected in 3 sec spinner